Home » poll » Polls regarding the way screencaps are packed

Polls regarding the way screencaps are packed

I know I don’t get much traffic, but just thought I’d reach out to those that stop by.



Would you like jpg files to be renamed?
This poll is asking if you care whether I rename the files so that they are not, for example, [ReinForce] Shingeki no Kyojin – 04 (BDRip 1920×1080 x264 FLAC) 0138 and the second file being [ReinForce] Shingeki no Kyojin – 04 (BDRip 1920×1080 x264 FLAC) 0142 but are changed to something like SnKep04-001 and the second file being SnKep04-002 instead. I know it doesn’t really matter but it’s much easier to know which file you are looking it when it is renamed but it also takes longer for me to rename them (although I do use a program for that, lol not manually renaming every jpg) and the files are in sequential order when they are renamed (versus 138, 142 it would be 001, 002, etc.).

TL;DR-
pros for renaming: visually easier to look at, in a way. It also is easy to remember the file name, and is also renamed to serve the purposes of identifying
cons for renaming: takes a couple minutes to do, isn’t a necessary thing for me to do to upload them


Action scene screencaps
It won’t be apparent until I upload more Shingeki no Kyojin or Bakemonogatari, but in fast scenes where frames will be seen for 1 second or less (there are less than 24 of that frame, meaning the image lasts for less than 1 second), I choose to cap every frame of the episode and put them in another folder to add to the episode it came from. For example: in Shingeki no Kyojin’s scenes where they are using 3D maneuver gear, or in Bakemonogatari’s flash of frames, or in many anime when there are action scenes, there are a number of scenes where you don’t get to see for a mere moment.
Examples from the site are:
These are from Shingeki no Kyojin episode 1. The first image shows a quick action scene, and the second image shows something that flashed on the screen for a moment.

Anyway, what I’m trying to ask is– do you care if I put them in sequential order and chronological order with the rest of the screencaps? That is what I have been doing for a couple episodes of Shingeki no Kyojin, but it has been draining and very time consuming to go back and forth to see where they would fit with the rest of the caps and to rename them so that they fit in, and even makes me sometimes re-watch the episode to see where they go (at least for Bakemonogatari). The compromise I was planning for was to put them in a separate folder in chronological order and just leave the rest of the regular-paced scenes in the main folder.

TL;DR-
pros for putting in chronological order: Cool to look at in a folder and see what the fast frames were
cons for putting in chronological order: It takes QUITE A LONG TIME. Sometimes it isn’t obvious about where it would fit in with the rest of the episode since this is a separate process from me doing the main parts of the episode, making me rewatch the episode. For example, I would have Shingeki no Kyojin ep04 of the BD uploaded right now if I weren’t about to insert them into chronological order, whereas I could have already uploaded them yesterday (10/1) when it was finished in terms of caps and just inserted action scenes into another folder within the main part of the episode

In the end, both questions are bit ridiculous and I could easily just do what I want but I figure I should try and see what downloaders would like. The screencaps will still be the same, it’s just a matter of how much extra time I put in them to make them “look good” in terms of presentation.

3 thoughts on “Polls regarding the way screencaps are packed

  1. As for the first half, it doesn’t bother me if the title’s long or short; as long as they’re in order. And for the second half, I’m fine with them being in a separate folder ^u^ (Of course I see the poll on the side afterwards, but as you said, comments are nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

